Dutch Caribbean law

History of Dutch Caribbean law

Until 1986, the Netherlands Antilles consisted of Curaçao, Aruba, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Saba and Sint Eustatius which six islands together formed an autonomous part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands...
Read more »

Applicable law Dutch Caribbean jurisdictions

Each of the four Caribbean jurisdictions of the Kingdom of the Netherlands has its own civil law system that originates directly from Dutch law and, consequently, has its roots in the French Civil Code and, more remote, Roman law...
Read more »

Judicial system Dutch Caribbean jurisdictions

The judicial system of the Dutch Caribbean also originates from the Dutch system. The Kingdom Act Combined Court of Justice regulates the organization of the court system for Curaçao, Aruba, Sint Maarten and the BES Islands...
Read more »